Twenty-one members of the Stanley High School Future Business Leaders of America (FBLA) chapter attended the 57th annual North Dakota FBLA State Leadership Conference in Bismarck, March 24-26, 2024. Over 60 FBLA chapters, approximately 1,300 members, from across the state participated in this conference where their students had the opportunity to test their business skills against others from around the state.

The most exciting aspect of the conference is the competitive events program. Students have the opportunity to test the business skills they’ve learned in the classroom in a variety of individual, team, and chapter events. Students can enter events such as accounting, computer applications, public speaking, job interview, website development, or networking concepts. The culmination of the competitive events program is the awards ceremony where winners are recognized for their accomplishments.

In addition to the competitive events program, students had the opportunity to attend workshops, vote for the 2024-25 state officer team, and network with members from around the state. Jackelyne Hernandez campaigned for State Treasurer and Ian Conard completed his term as State Social Media Coordinator.

For the first time, Stanley’s FBLA chapter earned the Dorothy L. Travis Award. This award is a sweepstakes award named after the founder of ND FBLA. Points were given for each state officer candidate, current state officer, and participant and placement in competitive events.

Payton Lystad, Middle School Chapter, was awarded the Young Leader Award. This award recognizes members with extraordinary commitment to leadership and community service. Each state may nominate one member to represent them at the National Leadership Conference for this award.

The following students placed in the top 10 of their event and were recognized on stage at the closing ceremony:

State Awards:

1st place Financial Literacy – Payton Lystad

1st place Future Business Leader – Ian Conard

1st place Local Chapter Annual Business Report – Caleb Mortensen

1st place Spreadsheet Applications – Aryanna C.

2nd pace Human Resource Management – Norah Hermanson

2nd place American Enterprise Project – Jake Hernandez and Jackelyne Hernandez

2nd place Business Plan – Jackelyne Hernandez and Karley Jemtrud

2nd place Computer Applications – Mya Mortensen

2nd place Insurance and Risk Management – Ella Mortensen

2nd place Leadership – Payton Lystad

2nd place Partnership with Business – Corra Bell, Aryanna C., and Ella Mortensen

2nd place UX Design – Elizabeth Salgado

3rd place Database Design and Applications – Mya Mortensen

3rd place MS Annual Chapter Activities Presentation

3rd place Multimedia and Website Development – Zeke Wienbar

3rd place UX Design – Alysia Garcia

4th place Word Processing – Aryanna C.

4th place Securities and Investments – Caleb Mortensen

5th place Journalism – Ian Conard

5th place Parliamentary Procedures – Corra Bell, Oscar Garcia, Norah Hermanson, Salomeea Simen, Ashley Walter

8th place Stock Market Challenge – Ian Conard

9th place Organizational Leadership – Jake Hernandez

9th place UX Design – Marley Hoaby

As a Chapter, Stanley was recognized as a Gold Level Chapter. Chapter Adviser, Kendra Evensvold, received an award for ten years of service to FBLA. Looking ahead, members will now start preparing for the National FBLA Conference held in Orlando, FL this summer.